WSGA Timeline

1909: Ohio State's Women’s Council forms

1912: Female students voted in favor of a women’s self-governing group

1913: OSU’s first Dean of Women hired

1922: Women’s Union (Pomerene Hall) finished construction

1927: Women’s Council renamed to Women’s Self Government Association (WSGA)

1940s-50s: OSU’s WSGA heavily involved with Intercollegiate Association for Women Students on a national level; WSGA President Pat Markunas serves as IAWS President and OSU is seen as a leader in women’s self governance

1960s: Pushback begins from women on campus concerning WSGA’s rules for women

1969-1970: WSGA conducts internal review of Constitution and campus duties, concludes that WSGA will eliminate its legislative and judicial functions, instead operating as a programming board

1972: Association for Women Students takes over as campus’ major women’s group, focusing heavily on feminist educational and social programming